Tea Time Melts

Like I had mentioned in one of my earlier posts, its a habit for us at home to keep a stock of biscuits,cookies or mini bite size cakes that can be served during tea time. We prefer this than relying on creamy wafers and biscuits that are available off the shelf at stores, plus that gives me ample of excuses to head back to the kitchen and BAKE :D!!

Our stock of Biscotti was over and since I had already shared the recipe on the blog, I thought I’ll bake something different to write about. Traditionally called ” Nankathai ” back home, these melt-in-the-mouth biscuits are part of the many traditional sweets my family boasts of making during Christmas. However since dad and me are fond of these at any time of the year I bake it once in a few months. Normally these are made plain with no toppings or additions, this time I tried rolling them in almond powder for a crunchy roasted almond taste. (yum)

Credit for this recipe goes to my mom. These are one of the first biscuits she taught me back when I was still trying to learn how to start baking. I might have been 7 or 8 years old, curiously looking around in the kitchen and helping her form little christmas treats, without knowing what the ingredients are. Easy, quick and amazingly tasty, try these for a tea time party.

2 cups flour
1 cup icing sugar
3/4 cup margarine
a pinch of salt ( careful with this)
1 tsp baking powder
Nuts or almond powder for garnish

1. Soften the margarine and keep aside.

2. Mix together flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in a dry bowl. Add margarine and mix the batter gently using hands till a smooth mixture is formed.

3. Let batter sit for an hour. Later, forms bisuits of desired shapes and add toppings of choice. I rolled the biscuits in almond powder, whiched tasted great after being baked.

4. Bake in a pre-heated oven at 180 degree Celcius, for about 20-30 minutes or until crisp and golden brown.

Tea Time Melts

Tea Time Melts

3 thoughts on “Tea Time Melts

    • 😀 thanks! your reply made me smile! didnt expect someone to know about nankhatai! thanks for it again 🙂 yea, theres also a semolina and coconut cookie made back home for christmas… and yea i have to mention…you have a lovely site.. keep posting 😀

  1. Pingback: Christmas melts | dreamernxtdoor

Leave a Reply

