Vanilla Cupcakes

Vanilla Cupcakes

Vanilla Cupcakes

Hello all!

Its been so long! and lots of things have changed since my last post. I landed myself a new job a week ago, and ever since I havent stepped into the kitchen to make anything new. That explains the “no new posts yet” part. Still getting into the grind of a new schedule and everything else in between. Since I dont want to get into the habit of getting food from out I decided to make little cupcakes that can last a week and being small in size I can munch under my table once in a while ๐Ÿ˜‰

Anyways I have made these cupcakes with the vanilla cake “formula” my family has been using for generations.Intrestingly I come from a family of bakers. My grandad’s parents actually baked and prepared multi tier wedding cakes for the rich who could afford it back then. (we are talking about 80 years back) *sigh* … that probably explains the baking gene in me.

Getting back to the cupcakes, here’s the recipe.

250 gms flour
250 gms butter, beaten
250 gms sugar
1 tsp baking powder
4 eggs, beaten
3 tsp vanilla essence
1/2 cup milk
3 tsp lemon juice, freshly squeezed

1. Beat the sugar and butter together till it has a smooth consistency.

2. Seive together the flour and baking powder in another bowl.

3. Add flour to sugar and butter, little by little in regualar intervals .

4. Add vanilla essence to the batter.

5. Warm up 1/2 cup of milk and add to the cake mixture. This makes the cake super soft after baking.

6. Add lemon juice.

7. Stir gently with a spatula and pour into cupcake cups.

8. Bake for 25-30 mins in a pre-heated oven or until done.

Also wanted to add that this simple formula of cake making was taught to me by my grandad.My mom would help me to remember this as the “250-250-250-4” cake. Lol. His secret tip of adding milk to make cakes super moist is something that many members of my family still follow. Try this yourself and see the difference, its much better than adding butter to moisten cakes. Also one of the first baking recipes I learnt as a kid.

And thats about it,I’m still cringing to make time to make something new ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Anyways until then, Ciao… have a lovely week ahead!

xo

7 thoughts on “Vanilla Cupcakes

  1. Congratulations on the new job!!!! Wanna share with us what it is? I’m really excited for you!!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Pingback: Birthday Blogging -Part 2 – Marble Cake@home | dreamernxtdoor

Leave a Reply

