Coconut & Semolina Cake

Coconut & Semolina Cake

Coconut & Semolina Cake

Like I mentioned in my last post, Im still struggling to find time in between to cook and post at the same time, while I have time to cook and prepare lunches for my working days, blogging them is a little difficult I must admit. This is my second week and its much better than the first. Getting used to the grind of the busy schedules and thinking about a millions things at one time *sigh* … Suddenly post-its are my best friends and the hand sanitizer is something that I cannot do without… I never wrote in diarys… but now my diary is more important than my phone. Its true… working changes everything and I must admit… the ‘once upon a time odd hour’ like 8 am is now a reporting time for me.

In the middle of all that, I make little baked stuff I can munch in between hours ( under the table ) 😛

This week Im here to share with you my family’s Coconut & Semolina Cake. Since i munch on these I have to make sure they are small enough to munch in one go. So I got them baked in tiny muffin cups which I think are great 😀

Although this requires to be kept overnight to set, the time is worth it! Besides this factor, its a relatively easy cake with not much mixing and beating. Another one of my family’s cake recipes passed down from my grandparents.

325 gms sugar

1 1/2 scraped coconuts

4 large eggs

250 gms semolina

3 tbsp clarified butter

2 tsp vanilla essence

1 tsp baking powder

1. Mix egg, sugar and coconut. Grind all these together in a mixer.

2. Add baking powder, semolina, vanilla essence and clarified butter.

3. Keep the mixture overnight.

4.Bake in a preheated oven for an hour or until golden brown.

Best Served warm, thanks to the crusty top.

Have a lovely week ahead!
xo

2 thoughts on “Coconut & Semolina Cake

    • oops… I forgot to mention, I got the pink with food colouring, I like to play around with cakes and layered colour. Normally for Christmas we make this cake thin layers of green and pink so it looks like a ribbon cake 🙂

Leave a Reply

