The Hyatt Experience – Capital Gate Abu Dhabi

Room 3109

Room 3109

Well Well…

Back home after my MBA exams and I cant wait to write out all that I have kept in my mind over the last few weeks, due to shortage of time in between work and studies.

We welcomed this month with a long weekend that fell on the 5th of June followed by a Friday-Saturday usual off. That meant a whole 3 day weekend and my first public holiday since i started work! For me the feeling was the same as though someone announced a summer break at school!:D
Taking advantage of the long weekend, my family planned a weekend off. A little away from home yet in the same city… Today I introduce to … The Hyatt at the Capital Gate, Abu dhabi!

One of Abu Dhabi’s tallest towers, stading at 160m high with 35 floors, this striking tower holds the world record for the “World’s furthest man made leaning tower.” !! How exciting could that get.While part of this tower has commercial offices, Hyatt occupies the tower from the 18th to the 35th floor, offering stunning views of the city from all angles of the tower.
As the red marked day on my calendar approached, the more excited I got. It was just two weeks ago that my sister saw an offer online to choose from 6 five star hotels for the long weekend. She left the choice to me, to choose the hotel we and my parents could spend the weekend at. And to be honest, I took a risk choosing this off hand. I had not been here, nor had I seen the profile of the hotel online.I was not even sure if this hotel has a beach of its own or was it a simple executive hotel. All I knew that it was a world iconic tower and the experience of staying there was something I wanted to talk about 😉

And boy… what a risk did i take!

Hyatt Capital Gate - Abu Dhabi

Hyatt Capital Gate – Abu Dhabi

We headed to the hotel close to noon on June 5th and drove for around 15 minutes away from where I live. We found it a little weird that we were gonna be spending the weekend away from home technically yet just 15 minutes away from our area. Driving to the lobby area which seemed very quiet upon arrival, we were welcomed by the warm valet staff who guided us to the lobby on the ground floor. Posh floorings and even more posh furniture, we were amazed by the first sights at the Hyatt Capital Gate. Shortly later, after gasping around a staff member welcomed us and informed us that check in procedures would be done at the hotel’s reception that is located on the 18th floor of the tower.

18 degrees Outdoor Seating

18 degrees Outdoor Seating

While check in formalities were going on, staff briefed us that breakfast would be served at the hotel’s iconic all day dining restaurant known as “18 degrees”. I’ll let the picture above say everything. With a huge indoor seating area, this restaurant also boasts of an exclusive outdoor sitting area on the 18th floor which ofcourse would have been best during the winter with the chilly breeze.

After lounging around waiting for check in, we headed to our rooms on the 31st floor.
Yes. 31ST FLOOR!! That’s the highest floor on any hotel I have ever stayed on. With shrieks of excitement, I got into the lifts exclusively kept for hotel guests heading on the higher floors.

3109 was our room and upon entering, my sister and I honestly expected the room to be just plainly suited for an executive. What shocked us was the space, the view, the luxurious fitting, the stunning glass-marble finished 3 part bathroom, and……………..

our room’s own …………….espresso machine!!!!!!!!!!

For the first two minutes we stood frozen, staring at the room, staring at the view of Abu Dhabi city from the 31st floor. Ive been born and brought up and literally spent my life here, but never have I had a chance to see how stunning this city is really!

Room 3109

Room 3109

I loved the 3 part bathroom, maybe I always have.. separate with a rain shower and a tub for one of luxurious long lazy baths.. *sigh*. The luxury detailing of leather cases, marble flooring and sliding doors. Truly Hyatt.

3109's stunning bathroom

3109’s stunning bathroom

Glass doors and bathroom view

Glass doors and bathroom view

And probably the best part of this hotel room was this :

Room Exclusive Espresso Machine

Room Exclusive Espresso Machine

Which hotel gives you a whole coffee machine to your disposal at your room! For coffee addicts like my sister and me, we felt like heaven on the 31st floor.

Evening came and we walked around the complex for a short walk enjoying the breeze that came in from the coast nearby. Note that this hotel does not have a private beach and is located on the highway to a nearby surburb. But the views of the city is what makes this hotel definitely worth it. Worth every bit maybe.

Sunset from the 31st Floor

Sunset from the 31st Floor

Next afternoon it was time to leave and who doesn’t like sweet endings. Upon leaving the hotel we were treated to a box of macaroons,fresh croissants, danish pastries and cakes. All exclusively made by the hotel’s cafe on the ground floor ” Profiteroles”

French macaroons from Profiterole

French macaroons from Profiterole

Fresh Danish pastries

Fresh Danish pastries

Chocolate mousse cake and Cheese cake

Chocolate mousse cake and Cheese cake

If not a stay, I would certainly say that a dinner date to this iconic world record holding tower will be a lifetime experience on its own. The staff is warm, although I would honestly say it would take some time for them to get accustomed to a large crowd. Breakfast serving seemed to be a bit of a mess. On the whole, the experience was amazing.

Truly five star. Truly Hyatt.

view@night

view@night

<a

2 thoughts on “The Hyatt Experience – Capital Gate Abu Dhabi

  1. It looks like you had an awesome experience! Sometimes it’s important to just take a break from your usual routine, even if that means going to a hotel 15 minutes away from home 🙂
    btw, those pastries look AMAZING!

Leave a Reply

