Thursday’s Thai Dinner

Thai Cashew Nut Chicken

Thai Cashew Nut Chicken

My parents are back from their vacation and trust me I am all smiles!! It feels great to have them back. The house is noisier and the kitchen is smelling of all the great aromas I missed of my mom’s cooking! *sigh* and yea, she just landed here last night and she is back to work. I don’t know how she pulls it off. Six weeks without them being around was not easy. Amidst all the spinsterhood fun my sister and I had during this period, I realised managing a house single handedly is not small task. Even worse is coming home after work to a empty house.

Anyways glad to have them back and while my mom and I catch up on the family stories(read gossip) back home, I took a few minutes to blog this recipe I tried a few days ago. Thai food is the new Chinese in my opinion. Once upon a time Chinese take outs and dinners was all we knew. Whenever a craving for a stir fry or noodles turned up, we would head to the nearby restaurant to dish out on the ever so typical stir fried chicken and wok noodles. Now however Thai food is definitely getting popular. And I am a fan! From the fact that Thai food is super healthy and easy to make to the lovely tastes and aromas of their curries, I love it all.Simple and delicious,my all time favorite is the Thai Cashew Nut Chicken which is a regular order for me whenever I stop by a Thai restaurant.

200gr Chicken breast meat, cut into bite size pieces
1 Medium size onion, cut into thin slices
1/2 cup unsalted cashews nuts
few finely cut long slices of carrot
few finely cut long slices of green peppers(capsicum)
2-4 Large cloves garlic, crushed and roughly chopped
3-4 Spring onions, cut into 4cm (1.5″) lengh
1 tbs all propose or tempura flour

Seasoning sauce:

1 1/2 tbs Fish sauce
1 tbs Black soy sauce
1 tbs Oyster sauce
1/4 tsp Salt
1/4 tsp Granulated sugar
1/4 cup Stock or water
Pinch of ground white pepper

First prepare the seasoning sauce by mixing all the ingredients.

Next prepare the chicken. Heat oil in a pan. Coat cut pieces of chicken in tempura flour or cornflour. Place on the pan and fry until golden brown on both sides. Drain chicken pieces and keep aside.

Next, prepare your veggies. In the same pan, used to fry the chicken, fry slices of carrot, green peppers, and finely chopped spring onions till crisp. Dont overcook as they turn soggy. Add any other favorite vegetable of your choice.
Lastly add cashewnuts and give it a quick stir. Remove from heat and keep aside.

In a separate wok, heat oil. Add chopped garlic to the oil to release its flavor. Fry onions for about 2 minutes or until crisp. Add fried chicken bits, next veggies with cashewnuts and stir on high heat. Add seasoning sauce and lower the heat. Let the mixture simmer and cook for about 10 minutes or wait until the sauce reduces and thickens.

Serve hot and garnish with freshly chopped spring onion greens. For those who like it spicy, sprinkle chilly seeds just before serving.

Simple and divine. Perfect for a dinner date at home…. served with noodles(which is homemade too) or garlic fried rice…. (ok.. got to stop dreaming)

Anyways back to work now…

Happy weekend!

Xo

Leave a Reply

