Time for Celebration – Nutella Kisses

image

To new beginnings !

After a long absence and what I can surely call a highly eventful week “end”, I finally return to the kitchen, to my only stress buster and my way of ending any celebration – BAKING.

Yes, apart from the usual rant that I go on about with my current hectic job and lack of time to blog and bake, this week has been life changing or in other words, an epic step towards what my future holds in the next couple of months for me in this country. I have finally managed to get a New Job!(or what my family would say, a proper job!)
Yep I know, partially one of the things that has kept me busy and away from the blog is the numerous number of interview levels that I have been busy attending in the last three weeks ….to finally reaching the point of signing my new contract which just happened on Thursday.

Apart from the priceless reaction of my parents …to the joy of the new job and much happiness in leaving the present, we have more reasons to be happy. Our cousins from back home have joined us for their annual summer break and the house is noisy again. They have always been our company on road trips, picnics and all in all weekend plans outside the city, until my cousin sister decided to head back home for University. All grown up that she is, I finally spent some quality time with her baking my next venture, just last night while they stopped over our place for dinner.

What I decided to try this time around is Nutella Kisses, inspired by a recipe I had used years ago to prepare biscuits with a chocolate filling, I improvised by changing the type of sugar and reducing the amount of butter ( we are on a diet, as you know..sshh) and of course inspired by all the fellow bloggers I have been following, I wanted a Nutella recipe of my own too. Like all the other posts, this one is just as simple and perfect for a celebration especially if you have Nutella fans at home.

1/2 cup butter, kept at room temperature and softened

3/4 cup light brown sugar

1 large egg

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 cups flour, sifted with 1 teaspoon of baking powder

A pinch of salt

Nutella spread

Cream together butter and sugar in a large mixing bowl and keep aside. Add beaten egg and vanilla essence to mixture and continue to stir.

Now mix in flour that is sifted with baking powder. Add a pinch of salt to the mixture and mould till it forms a crumbly dough. At this point you may need to mould the batter with your hands. Form a smooth dough ball and place it in a cling wrap.

Refrigerate dough for half an hour. Remove after refrigeration and mould into uniform round balls on a baking tray lined with baking paper. Flatten round balls by pressing a fork on it once, or until even and flat. You can use this simple technique or cut our batter into various shapes using a cookie cutter.

Place on a cookie/baking tray and bake in a preheated oven at 180 degrees C, for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown and crisp.

Remove biscuits from oven and place on a rack to cool. Sandwich two biscuits with Nutella spread or dust with icing sugar.

image

Happy Baking !

12 thoughts on “Time for Celebration – Nutella Kisses

Leave a Reply

