Italian Savoiardi Biscuits

Savoiardi Biscuits

Savoiardi Biscuits

Its a long weekend in the UAE and no it will not end with me not baking. After several trial runs and successful experiences in the kitchen, I have finally met or I can officially declare my weak point in the kitchen – the piping bag. After several attempts of trying to make my peace with it, I somehow cannot manage to get my way around it. Like a math problem at school, the piping bag may look incredibly simple and easy but it bothers me just when I have a look at it. The nightmarish feelings of over pouring or bag bursting scenarios keep me away from recipes that require me to use a piping bag. Nevertheless, now that I have declared it as my weak point, I can upload my embarrassing attempts at trying to make neat little baked goodies. One such is the current one I am posting … Italian Savoiardi Biscuits aka Italian Sponge Finger Biscuits.

Going in tune with my simple, fuss free and well healthy baking, these biscuits go best with a warm cup of coffee and as a base for Tiramisu if you have this gorgeous Italian dessert in mind. I admit they do not look the shape I had in mind but taste just great!

3 egg whites
2 egg yolks
1/4 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 cup all purpose flour

Separate egg whites and egg yolks in two separate bowls.

Beat egg whites in a bowl on high speed until foamy. Add one tablespoon of the sugar quantity and continue to beat until soft peaks are formed.

Meanwhile in the other bowl, Add vanilla to the rest of the sugar and add this to the egg yolks. Beat the mixture until thick and pale yellow.

Sift together flour and baking powder onto a plate and keep aside.

Gently fold in half of the egg whites into the yolk mixture. Add the flour mixture to this. Gently keep mixing. Fold the rest of the egg whites and stir gently until mixed well.

Pour batter into a piping bag with a thick nozzle and pipe out fingers onto a baking tray lined with baking paper. If piping fingers seems tough, go ahead with making simple round biscuits.

Bake in a preheated oven at 180 degrees C for 15-20 minutes or until the sides of the biscuits turn golden brown. These biscuits are spongy in nature so do not over bake them till crisp ( unless you prefer them that way)

Leave on a rack to cool and dust with icing sugar if required.

Best served with a warm cup of coffee! Until my next adventure with the piping bag….

Buon Appetito! and Happy Baking!

4 thoughts on “Italian Savoiardi Biscuits

Leave a Reply

