My Comeback – And Chocolate Chip Cookies

After a long and (shamelessly admitted ) break from blogging I finally return to my all time favourite passion….Baking. Owing to a sudden career and job change and a vacation to my home country with family, I was not able to make it to the blog. Besides, the past one month I have been living out of a suitcase, literally. Changing cities and residences almost every week did not give me much access to the kitchen and my best friend ….the oven. Oh! how I missed baking!

Now that I’m back in the UAE, with lots of new recipes and within the comforts of my home and kitchen, I decided to make a comeback to the blog with my rendition to the ever classic chocolate chip cookies. There must be a million ways to make it and this is just me adding my version to the already long list of recipes. A tea time favorite it surely turned out to be and something that another baker in the family ( my cousin) had been wanting to make since a really long time. Simple and quick as always ๐Ÿ™‚

75 gms butter
65 gms brown sugar
1 tsp vanilla essence
1 egg, beaten
1 tsp baking powder
175 gms plain flour
Chocolate chips, as much as you like ๐Ÿ™‚

In a mixing bowl, beat together butter and sugar until well blended. Add vanilla essence and mix until soft and fluffy.

Add beaten egg and mix well.

Sift together baking powder and flour. Add this to the wet mixture part by part and fold in slowly. Mix in chocolate chips or nuts as per your requirements.

Cling wrap mixture and refrigerate for two hours.

Preheat oven at 170 degrees and line a baking tray with baking paper or grease with butter. Using an tablespoon scoop out dough on to the baking tray and flatten lightly with your fingers. Leave a space between the cookies as the batter may spread.

Bake for 20 minutes or until well browned. Remove from oven and allow to cool and harden.

Store in air tight containers to retain crispiness.

Until my next post which will soon follow, Happy Baking !

7 thoughts on “My Comeback – And Chocolate Chip Cookies

      • Yes, I was there years ago, when they were just planning to make those islands in the ocean off of Dubai. They were not there yet. I think when I was there, there were maybe four, five skyscrapers in Dubai.
        I think that was right when Hong Kong’s land lease was up.

  1. Hiya! Thanks for following my blog! Definitely pleased to find your website, because I was thinking of making chocolate chip cookies just yesterday. Settled on a cake, but the cookies will soon come… Thanks, this recipe seems easy enough. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

