Vanilla and Banana Loaf

When life gives you over ripe bananas….

Shortly after landing back home from the trip, I came home to couple of bananas that were ripening faster than usual, thanks to the extreme summer that we are now in the middle of. As part of the stock of fruits that we normally keep at home on a daily basis, my sister picked these up shortly before we could reach home. Bananas are part of the staple daily fruits my dad enjoys, I though on the other hand hate them. Since we also follow a non wastage policy at home, I had to do something with the overripe bananas that would lay in the kitchen staring at me every time I passed by. No better way to incorporate some banana in baking I thought ( I hate eating them raw anyways) Also being one of my mom’s favourite cakes, I decided to give it a go.

After giving a shot at one of the recipes I took off another internet site, with much disappointment I had to bake another cake as this one not only sunk in from the top, but also tasted nothing close to what I had imagined. Giving the second cake a no risk chance, I decided to incorporate the banana in my usual and classic family recipe of the vanilla cake. I had to avoid wastage this time. Since banana is a heavy ingredient considering that cakes are better off light and airy, incorporating it into the recipe is tricky. So to make the process easier, I blended bananas in some fresh cream and milk making the mixture nice and light.
Here is a banana twist to my all time favourite, vanilla cake.

200 gms butter, kept at room temperature
200 gms sugar ( you could use brown sugar as well)
200 gms flour
3 eggs
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp vanilla essence
1 over ripe banana, blended with 1 tbsp of fresh cream and 3 tbsp of milk

1. Firstly, blend bananas in a blender or mixer along with fresh cream and milk and keep aside.

2. In a mixing bowl, stir in butter and sugar until mixture is light and fluffy.

3. Add beaten eggs to the sugar and butter mixture.

4. Add blended banana mixture to this batter and fold in gently.

5. Sift flour with baking powder into another bowl. Gradually add this to the wet mixture and fold in gently using a spatula.

6. Add vanilla essence and mix gently.

7. Line a loaf tray with baking paper or grease with butter.

8. In a preheated oven, bake at 170 degrees for 25-30 minutes until browned or do a bake check using a skewer.

9. Drizzle with chocolate or dust with icing sugar and serve.

Until my next baking adventure,

Happy baking!

xo

11 thoughts on “Vanilla and Banana Loaf

  1. Haha! We had the exact same issue when we went on a road trip and forgot to bring and eat our bananas. I’m going to have to save your recipe for next time, it looks good!

Leave a Reply

