Cupcake March: Mocha Frosting on Vanilla Cupcakes

image

What happens when you bring two of your absolute favourite ingredients together in a recipe. 

You get a combination that makes you go weak in the knees. I’m a coffee addict and nothing makes my day more complete than a warm cup of freshly brewed (love in a cup )coffee! Celebrating cupcakes all this month on the blog I’m here with a frosting recipe I am currently in love with! 

My mocha buttercream frosting brings together my love for coffee and cake together. I just had a gut feeling to go with this recipe after my sister had a couple of extra coffee beans to spare. Using an infusion technique she taught me, we opted for organic french roast beans that we had. Ofcourse, feel free to use the coffee beans you prefer. 

As the base, I have used the same vanilla cupcake that I wrote about in my last post. Do look it up incase you missed it. Here’s how to make the frosting. 

To prepare the coffee-milk infusion, in a non stick saucepan heat about half a cup of milk with 9-10 coffee beans. Keep stirring on low heat until the milk comes to boiling point. Continue stirring on low heat until you notice the milk turning slightly brown and thick. Remove from heat and let cool until room temperature. 

In a mixing bowl, gently whip about 3 tbspns of butter that is at room temperature so that its light and fluffy. Add 1 cup of icing sugar to this and continue stirring until lumps have disappeared if any. To this add 1 teaspoon of vanilla essence or extract. 

Continue stirring until well combined. Now, to add the coffee infusion, add 3-4 tbspns of coffee infused milk to the butter frosting. In case the frosting is more liquid than usual you will need to add additional icing sugar. Keep some on standby. Keep tasting frosting in between to make additions to the flavour. If you need a stronger coffee flavour without affecting the consistency of the frosting, add half teaspoon of instant coffee powder. Keep making additions of icing sugar until you reach the right consistency you can work with. 

If this is your first time with frosting, I suggest to try out a basic flavour so that you can get an idea on the right consistency. 

Pipe out on cupcakes of your choice and decorate with toppings of any kind.

Until my next post, happy cupcaking! 

Another frosting, coming soon! 

Also follow me on instagram @annaceta89

11 thoughts on “Cupcake March: Mocha Frosting on Vanilla Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

