A Big Thank you! Cupcake March: Red Velvet with Vanilla Cream Frosting

image

Keeping up with this month’s theme of celebrating my favourite cupcake flavours, I’m up with my next post and current favourite, Red Velvet and Vanilla Frosting. There’s something elegant about simplicity and this is just the cupcake that reflects that thought.

Crafted with the simplicity of any basic cupcake recipe, the two new additions to turn it into red velvet version requires just chocolate/cocoa powder and red colouring. To make mine extra chocolatey I have used both melted baking chocolate and cocoa powder along with red liquid colouring. This topped with an elegantly piped white frosting of vanilla spells beauty on a plate quite literally.

For a batch of approximately 12 cupcakes.

125 gms cake flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
125 gms butter at room temperature
125 gms white sugar
2 eggs
1/2 tsp vanilla essence
50 gms melted baking chocolate
1 tbsp cocoa powder
1 tbsp red food colour (liquid preferred)

For the frosting:
3 tbsps butter, creamed
1 cup icing sugar
2 tsps vanilla essence

To prepare rhe cupcakes, sift together cake flour and baking powder and keep aside.

In a mixing bowl, cream butter until light and creamy. Add white sugar and eggs and continue mixing.

Gradually add sifted cake flour and baking powder part by part. At this stage you can use a hand mixer if you like. Add vanilla essence to the wet batter.

Add melted baking chocolate, cocoa powder and red food colour to the batter. Mix well if using your hands until the mixture is well blended and devoid of lumps if any.

Place batter in equal proportions in cupcake moulds and bake in a pre heated oven at 200 degrees C for 20-25 minutes. Using a skewer or toothpick, check if cakes are baked through.

Keep cupcakes aside for cooling. Meanwhile prepare the frosting.

In a mixing bowl cream butter until light and fluffy. Add icing sugar and mix well until batter is devoid of lumps if any. Add vanilla essence and blend well. Use extra icing sugar  should you need to improve the consistency of the frosting.

Pipe onto cupcakes once cooled using a piping bag.

And devour, literally.

Hope you enjoy this as much as I did.

With this post, I would like to mention a special thank you to all my followers. The dreamernxtdoor blog is 500+ followers strong and a special thank to each and every one of you! I started this blog to write down just about my experiences in general, not knowing that someday the appreciation received for my recipe posts online would someday help me realize my calling for baking and being around food. I do hope to continue receiving great feedback, suggestions and inspiration from all the great bloggers I have met here so that someday my calling turns into a reality of being an owner of a little cozy eatery. (Read, current dream in progress! )

So a great big thank you to everyone. For your support, love and appreciation till date! Not forgetting the ones that have inspired me along this journey too! Here’s to more baking adventures together and a lovely week ahead!

The dreamernxtdoor is also now on Instagram! Do follow @annaceta89

Happy Baking!
xx

18 thoughts on “A Big Thank you! Cupcake March: Red Velvet with Vanilla Cream Frosting

  1. That sounds like such a great achievement! what a beautiful site! thanks for sharing with us! how did this become your passion? (:

    • Thank you so much 🙂 I love all the appreciation and support I get here. It really motivates me to try more and continue baking. I’m a home self trained baker at the moment and every little bit of support I get from here helps me realize how much more I love baking with every post. Thank you so much again for stopping by.

      • Unfortunately I’m not on fb, but you can definitely connect with me on instagram @annaceta89 where I post more regularly. I’d love to hear more from you as well: -)

  2. I will have to try a dairy-free version of this and link it back to you when it happens! I just wanted to say thank you for the like and I made sure to follow you. These recipes are too great! I hope we continue to support each other. 🙂

Leave a Reply

