Cupcake March : Marble Cupcakes with Chocolate Chip Crumble

image

Oh crumble cupcakes! Where have you been all my life! 

Its been a while since I experimented with a recipe that has completely blown my mind away! I have posted my work on cupcakes all this month but nothing has had me as excited as this one. Inspired by Rachel Allen’s Marbeled Chocolate Crumbed Cake, I decided to make a small spin on my next batch of vanilla cupcakes that I was just initially preparing for the family. I have loved marbeled cakes with chocolate as it combines two of my favourite flavours of all times. However, Rachel Allen’s idea of a crumbled topping surely took my liking to a whole new level.     

As the base of my cakes I have used my recipe with a chocolate blend and the combination I use for most of my cake bases. However, for the crumble I put my own spin to it by adding a handful of mini chocolate chips that I had lying around in my fridge for a long time. This was probably the best part of the cake and with no shame at all, this is my first crumble cake. Popular with blueberry and other berry flavours, I have stayed away from it all this while. 

Coming back to the recipe, after all the posts on cupcakes this month this recipe is hands down the best! Make these special by adding your twist of favoirite ingredients. 

Here’s my version to the popular recipe. 

To prepare the Marbled Cupcakes, 

250 gms cake flour 

200 gms white sugar 

250 gms butter, room temperature 

4 eggs 

1/2 tsp baking powder 

1 tsp vanilla essence 

4 tbsps cocoa powder 

Firstly, seive together cake flour and baking powder and keep aside. 

In a mixing bowl, mix together butter and sugar until light and creamy. Add eggs to this. 

Gradually add cake flour and baking powder part by part and mix together well using a hand held mixer if needed. To this mixture finally add vanilla essence. 

To prepare the marbeled portion, divide the cake batter into two portions. We will be using one portion for the chocolate marble mix. In a separate bowl, mix together cocoa powder and one portion of the cake batter. Mix well until cocoa powder is well blended. 

Preheat the oven in the meanwhile at 200 degrees C. Place equal portions of white and cocoa marble batters in cupcake moulds. To swirl, use a skewer or anything similar to create swirls in each cupcake mould by gently swirling the batters. Remember over mixing would make it look messy. 

To prepare the crumble, you will need 

125 gms plain flour 

75 gms caster sugar 

75 gms butter, chilled

2 tbsps almond powder

75 gms mini chocolate chips or dark chocolate chopped into tiny bits 

In a mixing bowl, crumble together flour, caster sugar, butter, almond powder and chopped chocolate or chocolate chips using your fingers to rub in the butter into the flour gently until the mixture resembles crumbs.  That’s all it takes. I added almond powder to the original recipe for an extra crunch.

Place crumbs over cupcake batter placed in moulds. Place cupcakes into the oven and bake for 25-30 minutes or until baked through. Use a skewer or toothpicks to check the same. 

image

These cupcakes can be best stored in air tight containers for a couple of days, but trust me cupcakes this good won’t last long!  

I hope you have enjoyed this month’s celebration of my favourite cupcakes. I do hope to have a similar themed month later on. 

Happy Baking until my next post! 

The dreamernxtdoor is also on Instagram. Do follow me @annaceta89

image

15 thoughts on “Cupcake March : Marble Cupcakes with Chocolate Chip Crumble

Leave a Reply

