Julia Child’s Queen of Sheba Cake

For weeks I’ve been giving off teasers of my next bake on my instagram page ( which you can follow on @annaceta89 ) I’m finally back with The best chocolate cake to make! 

image

Apart from the procasti-baking, I am just back from my sister’s wedding festivities that we had flown out for. Thankfully everything has gone well and she has blissfully moved in with her husband, luckily two blocks away from where I reside. Couple of days before I could fly out for the wedding I gave a trial shot to a chocolate cake by our beloved Julia Child. Intrestingly, after watching the movie Julie&Julia (for the fifth time ) did it strike me that till date I haven’t attempted a Julia Child bake. So that night I looked up some baking recipes by Julia and came across a cake with a name unfortunately no one till date is sure of how it came into being. Keeping it short, I present you Julia Child’s Queen of Sheba Cake, and truly is a cake fit for a queen. This simple, rich and sinfully divine chocolate cake is based on the combination of my three favourite flavours when it comes to baking…almond, coffee and chocolate. 

85 gms semi sweet chocolate 

28 gms unsweetened chocolate

2 tbsp strong coffee powder

114 gms unsalted butter

100 gms white sugar

3 egg yolks 

3 egg whites 

1/4 tsp cream of tartar

Pinch of salt

2 tbsp sugar,  for whisking 

48 gms almond powder

1/4 tsp almond extract 

69 gms cake flour 

In a saucepan using double boiling method, melt chocolate of both types. Once melted add coffee powder, mix well and take off from heat. Keep aside to cool. 

In a mixing bowl, mix together butter and sugar until creamy and smooth. Add egg yolks to this. 

In another bowl, beat egg whites until foamy stage. Add cream of tartar and a pinch of salt to stabilize egg whites, continue whisking until soft peaks are formed. Add 2 tbsp of sugar and continue whisking until stiff peaks are formed. Keep aside. 

Add melted chocolate and coffee mix to the egg yolks mixture. Add almond powder and extract to this and stir until well mixed. Stir in 1/4 of egg whites into this mixture. 

Using a spatula scoop the rest of the egg whites and gently fold in the egg yolk mixture, also alternating with cake flour. Gently fold in to delicately combine the ingredients. Vigorously stirring will destabilize the egg whites. 

Place batter into a lined baking tray of your choice and place into a preheated oven at 180 degrees C for 25 – 30 minutes. Poke cake using a skewer to check if baked well.

Remove cake from oven once done and allow to cool completely before decorating with a frosting of your choice. 

image

The blend of almonds, chocolate and coffee makes this cake different from the others not just in taste but texture as well. I loved the cake and in my opinion the best ever chocolate cake I have ever made. Chocolate cakes have always been made by my sister at home and she was the best at it. And even though nothing beats this Julia Child cake, a cake made with oodles of love and chocolate by my sister will always remain a family favourite. 

Until my next post, happy baking!  Do try this one, trust me its worth it! 

10 thoughts on “Julia Child’s Queen of Sheba Cake

  1. I like Juila Child too, just watched the movie. I especially adore her following sentence: ” no one is born a great cook one learns by doing”. The cake looks amazing btw:)

Leave a Reply

