Eggless Red Velvet Cupcakes

image

Have you been following me yet on instagram? 😀 ( @annaceta89 ) 

 I have loved my time since I joined the networking app and I’ve been inspired by the thousands of home bakers I’ve come across and of course baking bloggers like myself. Well I won’t have this post started with a self marketing campaign but I wanted to take time out to mention a post I came across on a fellow home baker’s page that I felt was one of the most fitting experiences a home baker goes through. 

It read, “Baking is like friendship… You lose some, you win some (friends). And I won this one. ” (After a successful attempt at making cupcakes).

True feelings from a home baker like myself couldn’t have been better expressed in a quote like that. I have not sought professional training in baking yet, so I have trully been through the ups the downs of baking and recipe testing. The whole purpose of this blog was to share my experiences in baking and perhaps making recipes fail proof for those of us who share the same passion as me. Plain and simple. I do hope some of you take time to try the recipes I share here and would love to here your feedback. As a home baker still, I can say there’s no equivalent feeling to seeing your time and effort turn into a success when you take out that warm cake with a perfect crack on the top, or that perfect crisp of the pastry or the melt in the mouth effect of those biscuits still warm in the mouth. And for those who consider themselves clumsy bakers, there’s a lot to discover yet. 

On that note here’s another winner recipe continuing in the line of my last post with eggless baking , Eggless Red Velvet Cupcakes. Fail proof, simple and of course deliciously fabulous. 

image

1.5 cups All purpose flour

4 tsp Cocoa powder

1 tsp Baking soda

Pinch of salt

1 cup Powdered sugar

1 cup Full Fat milk

0.5 cup of Vegetable oil / Sunflower oil

2 tbsp White vinegar

1 tsp Vanilla essence

1 tbsp Red food coloring

Preheat oven to 180 ℃. Note that you will not need an electric beater for this recipe and for eggless cakes, keep the mixing of ingredients as gentle as possible. 

Begin by mixing together milk, oil, vanilla essence and red food coloring in a large mixing bowl using a spatula. To this add vinegar and continue stirring gently. Keep aside. 

In another mixing bowl, place together all purpose flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, salt and powdered sugar. 

Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and stir gently using a spatula to remove lumps. Continue stirring until ingredients have combined. 

Line a baking dish with baking paper or a cupcakes tray lined with cupcake paper cups.  Pour batter into the ready baking dish and place it in the already pre heated oven for baking at 180℃ for 30 minutes approximately. 

Using a skewer, poke cake (cupcakes )  to check if baked through.  Keep aside for cooling before removing from the baking dish. 

Serve with your favorite frosting or crumb coating. Our all time favorite with red velvet cakes is Vanilla buttercream frosting. 

Please do follow my instagram account for regular updates and until my next post, Happy Baking! 

Have a pleasant week ahead! 

11 thoughts on “Eggless Red Velvet Cupcakes

    • It’s so nice to hear from you too! Hope your beautiful family and you are keeping well…Yes I had gone for a short baking course back home and it’s vacation time here in the UAE too…Thank you so much for the lovely comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

