Eggless Carrot Cake

image

You will get over it soon they said. And I did.

After a long hiatus from my blog and through the most confusing phase of my life till now I am back on my blog determined to make this one post through that I promised my readers about roughly 20 weeks back.

Shortly after my last post I was diagnosed with depression. And no I am not ashamed of mentioning it. It is something most of us even do not feel creeping right into us. Not always does it make itself prominent at difficult times. Sometimes you have it all, but you still lack purpose of life. Sometimes it makes you feel directionless. And sometimes, it makes you fearful of the very things you love. For me baking.ย  It does come to a shock when you intend to move your clogged up career towards something you feel is your calling and something that I thought was in my genes and the very bloodline of the family. But depression made me question myself. Am Iย  really that good a baker? Well circumstances that led me to this condition, is something I decide not to discuss on this blog but yes I decided to face it head on and bring myself back even better than what I was before.

And to be honest I think I am already there. Sometimes it is best to focus on what I call self therapy and do the things I love the most. Thus bringing me back to this platform of connecting with bakers worldwide. This for me is the best way to recovery. And of course, we bakers dont need an excuse to bake do we ? ๐Ÿ˜‰

And well what a better day for a comeback. I heard its National Carrot Cake Day in the US. Perfect timing for my eggless version of this timeless classic!

ย 

Brown Sugar โ€“ 40 gms

Butter โ€“ 25 gms

Condensed milk – 100 gms

All purpose flour โ€“ 100 gms

Baking soda โ€“ ยฝ teaspoon

Baking powder โ€“ ยฝ teaspoon

Cinnamon powder โ€“ ยผ teaspoon

Milk โ€“ 100 ml

Vanilla Essense โ€“ ยฝ teaspoon

Carrot (freshlyย  grated, fine) โ€“ 50 gms

Cashew nuts, broken โ€“ 10 gms

Walnuts, broken โ€“ 10 gms

Raisins โ€“ 10 gms

Firstly, preheat the oven to 180 degrees C.

In a mixing bowl, using an electric beater mix together sugar, butter and condensed milk until smooth and creamy. Add finely grated carrot to this batter.

To this add all purpose flour, baking soda and baking powder and fold until well blended.

Add milk to the batter and stir in gently. Add raisins, walnuts and cashew nuts broken into small pieces. Lastly add vanilla essence.

Pour batter into a baking tin and bake in the oven for 30 to 35 minutes.

Serve with frosting of your choice .

image

Looking forward to more bakes and cakes in the coming weeks !

Happy baking !

15 thoughts on “Eggless Carrot Cake

  1. Looks so yummy and also beautiful decoration! I love those carrots!!!

    Please visit and follow my blog (www.lazymomcooking.wordpress.com) or my Instagram (lazymom_cooking) for some recipe ideas ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Wow it looks really good! I had never seen a carrot cake without egg, I’m really surprised! I may try it, just for the sake of it

    Zoel Hernรกndez | zoelhernandez.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

