Homemade Éclairs 

 

So it is decided.

I have ran out of excuses to keep myself away from something that is an extension of my thoughts and my way of letting whats in my head take form online in word. Blogging the world calls it. And I love it. So much that the guilt of not posting something has been bugging my mind and so to say my sleep from the last couple of days. Like most other problems I have recently faced I have decided to deal with my laziness that keeps me away from a keyboard and to challenge myself to try to get a post online once every week, the least I can say, safely. Running away from a problem is no solution.

I cannot make promises I cannot keep so challenging myself to get out of corners of the house that do not require me in my free time is what I need to do. If not baking through the week, I will be here making my appearances on the blog more frequent, even if its just a couple of tips I need to share with my fellow food bloggers. 

Thank you for understanding. 

I am back from vacation and longing to share a recipe that took me by surprise. For years I have been waiting to come across the perfect homemade eclairs. The right texture and the right custard filling. After my short bakery training course last year, bakers seem to be cropping up in the family and my aunt is my recent partner in crime. She shared this recipe and it’s been modified to be fail proof. 

Éclairs, these delicate petit french baked treats are simple to make and gorgeous to look at. If you have not made these yet, I intend to get you baking soon. And I will let you in on a secret. I have modified this recipe to taste just as great with lesser calories. So no excuses now are there ?

Ingredients you ask? I am pretty sure a normally stocked kitchen would have these. So why wait. 

Custard Filling: 

1 cup white granulated sugar

3/4 cup all purpose flour

1/4 tsp salt

3 cups of milk

3 egg yolks

2 tsp of vanilla essence

2 tbsp of unsalted butter

Pastry Shells: 

1/2 cup of unsalted butter

1 cup of water

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup of all purpose flour

4 medium eggs

Chocolate Topping:

1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips

1 tsp of unsalted butter

  1. Beat the egg yolks and set aside. Whisk together sugar, flour and salt in a small non stick pan. Slowly add the milk while continuing to whisk. Add egg yolks and bring to a boil after mixing it well with the whisk. Reduce the heat and continue to whisk until it reaches a pudding like consistency.
  2. Remove from heat and add to it vanilla essence and butter. Blend well. Cool and keep aside.
  3. Preheat oven to 190℃. Line a baking tray with baking paper.
  4. Combine butter, water and salt in a pan and bring to simmering point. Add flour to the pan and stir until it forms a ball. Remove from heat and let to cool for around 15 minutes.
  5. Transfer to a mixing bowl, beat in eggs one at a time. Transfer to a piping bag and pipe out finger length éclairs and bake at 180℃ in the oven.
  6. Remove from the oven when golden brown and while still warm poke holes on to the sides of each éclair to let the steam escape. Return to the oven and bake for a further 5 minutes to attain crisp éclair shells. Remove from the oven once baked and allow to cool completely.
  7. Slit each éclair carefully and pipe into each the custard filling.
  8. Melt chocolate chips using the double boiler method and add butter. Blend well. Dip each éclair and allow the chocolate to set.
  9. Chill before serving.

Hope you try these soon and enjoy them as much as my family did. For more frequent posts please follow me on Instagram @annaceta89

Until next week, Happy Baking! x

 

3 thoughts on “Homemade Éclairs 

Leave a Reply

